Handicap Championship

Tadcaster Harriers Handicap Championship is run over the season from October to September. The handicapping is calculated by the handicapper (at present Mike Smith) and an adjustment is made to the finishing times to reflect the runner’s form, so any runner in the race can win irrespective of ability and gender.

The races are over a variety of distances and courses and for the upcoming season, starting on 1st October 2017, the committee have selected 9 races to qualify for the handicap championship (see below for details). Points are awarded on a count back system with the winner scoring 100 points, second 99 points etc. From those 9 races, the best 7 scores will be added up. The runner with the highest score will be crowned Handicap Champion and presented with a trophy at the annual dinner in November.

Current standings and results from previous years can be found in the attachment here: Handicap Championship Results

Always Check the Diary page for actual dates and start times.

The handicap races for 2018-2019 are:

Date Race
Sunday 23rd September The Old Street Loop Results Course Map
Sunday 25th November Riverbank Cross Country Results Course Map
Sunday 6th January The Turkey Trot Results Course Map
Sunday 27th January Catterton Healaugh Loop Results Course Map
Sunday 17th February The Old Coach Road Results Course Map
Tuesday 2nd April One Lap of the Old Course Results Course Map
Thursday tbc June Midsummer Madness Results Course Map
Thursday tbc July The Track Handicap Results Course Map
Thursday tbc August The Joe Knowles Trophy Results Course Map